VKPrado and family traveled down to Hobart way for their long weekend. I had the chance to catch up with them Saturday night. Met friends of theirs, that have bought a 2008 Silver GXL Petrol Prado! New members to our clan!

VKPrado also did a small reccie as a continuation of the reccie we did last weekend. From the description seems like a very enjoyable drive, with some spectacular views along the way.

Did I ever mention the weather down here? Plan for everything! I’ve learned that from working Car Rallies in the forrest, everything from winter gear to sunscreen!

As a follow up, I caught an odd rock – and was unlucky enough to get a puncture.

IMG_0987

As you can see by the scale of my thumb, it was small! Keep in mind though the only thing showing was the square where my thumb was!

Needless to say, after knowing what my spare was like – it was time to move on shoes for my Prado!

Palmer120 was kind enough to mention that he had his old steelies and Coopers for sale. I jumped at the chance, as his rims are free of rust and in overall better condition than my current set. The bonus is that VKPrado had already sold my current rims!

Soo…Packed the girls in for a day trip up to Palmer120’s. A short three hours later we arrived! Then came the job of swapping tyres over. That was easy! The challenge was packing up my 5 old tyres in and on the Prado for the delivery to VKPrado’s.

Note to self, if it takes two people to put tyres on the roof, it might take two people to get them down…..

Anyways, a short 6 hour round trip of 553 KM’s I have newer tyres on the Prado, and it might be a mental thing, but it already seems to handle better!

While I was driving north through rain, and in a couple of places blowing snow! Jennings was driving up Mount Wellington – an like the cover, got a snow shot!
Jennings_Wellington

VKPrado and family ended up heading through the Coal River Valley – Mrs. VKPrado was of course product sampling to ensure that they are up to TasGTG2015 standards!

Bit of a ramble, and a little off topic – but this is a blog after all!